Feather Awards Nominations 2010

The Second Annual Feather Awards were announced on the 28th September 2010. The most famous black gay guy in Mzansi, Somizi Mhlongo, MC'ed the event. Looking at the list of nominees this year I was a bit relieved that they were a bit "neutral" in the calibre of people who get nominated.

My issue with these awards last year was the fact that they seemed to serve personal egos instead of celebrating individuals who have had a positive impact in the gay community. Needless to say the awards lived up to their promise to be "fabulous". This year however they promise to be bigger and better... we'll have to wait and see how that pans out


Best Styled Female 
Papi Moloi
  • Nkhensani Nkosi
  • Pabi Moloi
  • Jo-Anne Strauss

Best Styled Male 

Kwela Tebza
  • Kaizer Motaung Jr
  • Kwela Brothers
  • Ole Ledimo

Hunk of the Year 

Janez Vermueren
  • JC Ngandu
  • Janez Vermeuren
  • Kaos Matu (really?)

Diva Extraordinaire of the Year 

David Tlale
  • David Tlale (should win)
  • Gerri Elsdon
  • Precious Motsepe

Sports Personality of the Year 

Katlego Mphela
  • Simphiwe Tshabalala 
  • King Louis Oosthuizen
  • Katlego Mphela

Role model of the Year 

  • Kabelo Mabalane
  • Lira
  • HHP

Cutest Couple 

Sonia & Matthew Booth
  • Sonia & Mathew Booth
  • Nicky Van der Walt & Lee-Anne Liebenburg
  • Speedy & Stoan (Bromance)

Hot Chick of the Year 

Sashi Naidoo
  • Shashi Naidoo
  • Bonang Matheba
  • Joelle Kayembe

Fag hag of the Year 

Dineo Ranaka
  • Sophie Ndaba
  • Dineo Ranaka
  • Lucia Mthiyane


  • BlackCoffee
  • JR
  • Locnville


Sophie Ndada
  • Sophie Ndaba
  • Lucia Mthiyane
  • Kwela Tebza

Drama Queen 

Lebo M
  • Chris Maruleng (Don’t touch me on my studio)
  • Theunis Crous
  • Lebo M

I will have a chat with some of my friends over the weekend and will give you guys the post-mortem of the nominee list. I just have to get some few questions answered first. 

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.