Nominees For The MTV Africa Music Awards 2014

Nominees for the 2014 MTV Africa Music Awards were announced last night at a starstuded nominees party held at The Sands in Johannesburg.

The event was hosted by MTV BAse personalities; Sizwe Dhlomo and Nomuzi Mabena. 

And the nominees are:

Best Male

Anselmo Ralph (Angola)
Davido (Nigeria)
Diamond (Tanzania)
Donald (South Africa)
Wizkid (Nigeria)

Best Female

Arielle T (Gabon)
Chidinma (Nigeria)
DJ C’ndo (South Africa)
Efya (Ghana)
Tiwa Savage (Nigeria)

Best Group

Big Nuz (South Africa)
Mafikizolo (South Africa)
Mi Casa (South Africa)
P Square (Nigeria)
Sauti Sol (Kenya)

Best New Act

Burna Boy (Nigeria)
Heavy K (South Africa)
Phyno (Nigeria)
Stanley Enow (Cameroon)
Uhuru (South Africa)

Best Live Act

2face (Nigeria)
Fally Ipupa (DRC)
Flavour (Nigeria)
Dr Malinga (South Africa)
Zakes Bantwini (South Africa)

Best Collaboration

Amani ft Radio and Weasel - ‘Kiboko Changu’ (Kenya/Uganda)
Diamond feat Davido - ‘Number One’ (Remix) (Tanzania/Nigeria)
Mafikizolo feat May D - ‘Happiness’ (South Africa/Nigeria)
R2bees feat Wizkid - ‘Slow Down’ (Ghana/Nigeria)
Uhuru feat DJ Buckz, Oskido, Professor, Yuri Da Cunha - ‘Y-tjukutja’ (South Africa/Angola)

Artist of the Year

Davido (Nigeria)
Mafikizolo (South Africa)
Mi Casa (South Africa)
P Square (Nigeria)
Uhuru (South Africa)

Song of the Year

Davido- ‘Skelewu’ (Nigeria)
DJ Clock feat Beatenberg - ‘Pluto’ (Remember Me) (South Africa)
DJ Ganyani feat FB - ‘Xigubu’ (South Africa)
DJ Kent feat The Arrows -‘Spin My World Around’ (South Africa)
Dr Sid feat Don Jazzy - ‘Surulere’ (Nigeria)
KCee - ‘Limpopo’ (Nigeria)
Mafikizolo feat Uhuru ‘Khona’ (South Africa)
Mi Casa - ‘Jika’ (South Africa)
P Square - ‘Personally’ (Nigeria)
Yuri Da Cunha -‘Atchu Tchu Tcha’ (Angola)

Best Hip Hop

AKA (South Africa)
Ice Prince (Nigeria)
Khuli Chana (South Africa)
Olamide (Nigeria)
Sarkodie (Ghana)

Best Pop

Danny K (South Africa)
Fuse ODG (Ghana)
Goldfish (South Africa)
LCNVL (South Africa)
Mathew Mole (South Africa)

Best Alternative

Gangs of Ballet (South Africa)
Michael Loman (South Africa)
Nakhane Toure (South Africa)
Parlotones (South Africa)
Shortstraw (South Africa)

Best Francophone

Arielle T (Gabon)
Espoir 2000 (Ivory Coast)
Ferre Gola (DRC)
Toofan (Togo)
Youssoupha (Congo)

Best Lusophone

Anselmo Ralph (Angola)
JD (Angola)
Lizha James (Mozambique)
Nelson Freitas (Cape Verde)
Yuri Da Cunha (Angola)


Personality of the Year

Chimamanda Adiche - Writer (Nigeria)
Omotola Jalade Ekeinde - Actress (Nigeria)
Trevor Noah - Comedian (South Africa)
Lupita Nyong’o - Actress (Kenya)
Yaya Toure - Soccer Player (Cote d’Ivoire)

Transform Today by Absolut
This award recognises and supports young, emerging and original African creative talents who use their imagination to fuel social transformation and bring positive attention to the continent.

Anisa Mpungwe (Tanzania)
Clarence Peters (Nigeria)
Leti Arts (Ghana)
Rasty (South Africa)

You can vote for each on the MTV Base website here:

Voting opened on 16 April and closes at midnight on 4 June 2014. 

The awards ceremony will place in Durban, at the International Convention Centre on Saturday, 7 June and will air live across Africa on MTV Base and MTV at 21h00 (CAT).

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.