Nominations Open for 10th gsport Awards

Nominations are open for the 10th annual gsport Awards, South Africa’s longest running women’s sports Awards, launched in 2006 to raise the profile of South African women in sport, and significantly encourage Corporate South Africa to back female athletes.

The nominations process for the 10th annual gsport Awards will see the public nominate their top candidates across 15 categories, including Athlete of the Year, Athlete of the Year with Disability, Junior Athlete of the Year and Coach of the Year.

This year, the Women in Media Award is expanded to include separate Written, Radio and Television categories, as well as the Social Media Award.

A new category, Supporter of the Year, is dedicated to those special family members and others who help make SA athletes’ dreams come true.

Nominations can be made via the gsport website ( or via gsport’s social media channels, @gsport4girls on Facebook and twitter, and nominations can be sent by email to

gsport Founder Kass Naidoo said: 
“gsport undertook an extensive review process following the ninth Awards last year, and the changes in this year’s process reflect that.
“The expansion of the media category is in line with the growing number of women making their mark across all sports media platforms, and gsport looks forward to shining a brighter spotlight on these leading women in media.”
Developments at the gsport website aimed at enhancing fairness will for the first time feature measures to ensure that public interaction in the 2015 gsport Voting Hall is logged and vetted.

“Voting will still be free for all,” said Naidoo, “And, when the 2015 gsport Awards Voting Hall opens after the Nominations phase, we are looking forward to the excellent support the South African women-in-sport community is known to lavish on its nominees.”

Public Nominations are sought for these 2015 gsport Awards Categories:

Athlete of the Year - This award goes to a sportswoman who has excelled during the year under review, and is helping pave the way for other women to make their mark on the sports field.

Athlete of the Year with Disability - The aim of this Award is to raise the profile of disabled women's sport in SA, and celebrate its icons and role models.

Junior Athlete of the Year - This award is presented to a sportswomen under the age of 18. It honours the stars of tomorrow to inspire them to sporting greatness.

Coach of the Year - This Award is presented to a coach who is making a significant impact on women's sport and is actively involved in growing the careers of South Africa’s leading sportswomen.

Woman of the Year - This Award recognises a formidable woman who is breaking barriers and making strides in the business of sport, as an administrator or official. She dedicates her life to the development and success of South African sport, particularly women’s sport.

Women in Media: Social Media - This Award looks for social media practitioners using new creative ways to promote SA women in Sport

Women in Media: Print - Busisiwe Mokwena from The Sun won the 2014 award, who will rival her this year?

Women in Media: Radio - Women have made big impact on radio sports media and have set a high bar over the years

Women in Media: Television - This award recognises women who are excelling in the male dominated world of sports media, and those leading the way in ensuring increased coverage for women’s sport in SA.

Style Star - This award recognises a vibrant South African woman who exudes style, elegance, and beauty, and serves as an inspiration to all women.

Volunteer of the Year - Volunteers are the backbone of amateur sport. This award recognises an individual or organisation that selflessly gives their time to help raise the profile of women’s sport in South Africa.

Supporter of the Year - A first in 2015, gsport is seeking nominations for those special family members and others who help make SA athletes’ dreams come true.

Sports Federation of the Year - This award lauds a federation that is making strides in raising the profile of women’s sport in South Africa and has taken up the challenge to turn women’s sport professional.

Sponsor of the Year - This award acknowledges the outstanding commitment to women’s sport by Corporate South Africa in helping raise its profile to compete with the best in the world.

Special Recognition - The Special Recognition Award was won by Portia Modise in 2014, after becoming the first South African footballer – male or female, to score 100 international goals.

gsport seeks the following information supporting nominations:

Name and contact details of the person submitting the nomination*;

Name and contact details of the nominee;

Which category the candidate is being nominated in; and

A few compelling reasons why the person being nominated should be considered for an award at the 10th Annual gsport Awards

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.