And the Winners at the South African Music Awards 2016 Are ...

The 22nd Annual South African Music Awards were held at the Durban ICC in Kwazulu Natal on Saturday, June 4th. Known to music fans as The SAMAs, the awards are organised by the Recording Industry of South Africa (RiSA). 

This year the event had the City of Durban as the official hosting partner for the 22nd Annual South African Music Awards with the SABC as the official broadcast partner; Apple Music and iTunes were the digital music partner; and PRASA is the transport partner.

The winners are;
  • Album of the Year (served hot by Nescafe)
Black Coffee                             Pieces of Me
  • Duo or Group of the Year
Big Nuz                                        For the Fans
  • Female Artist of the Year (Brought to you by Metro FM)
Zonke                                          Work of Heart          
  •  Male Artist of the Year (Brought to you by Umhlobo Wenene FM)
Nathi                                            Buyelekhaya
  • Newcomer of the Year (Supported by Apple Music)
Nathi                                            Buyelekhaya
  • Best Rock Album          
Desmond & the Tutus                Enjoy Yourself                       
  • Best Pop Album   (Brought to you by 5FM)
Tresor                                           VII
  • Beste Pop Album (Afrikaans) 
Karlien van Jaarsveld               My Hartjie                          
  • Best Adult Contemporary Album     
Judith Sephuma                                     One Word              
  • Beste Kontemporêre Musiek Album
Elvis Blue                                     Êrens in die Middel van Nêrens  
  • Best African Adult Album       
Dizu Plaatjies & Friends              Ubuntu – The Common String    
  • Best Alternative Album           
Petite Noir                                   La Vie Est Belle/Life is Beautiful              
  • Best R&B/Soul/Reggae Album          
Nathi                                             Buyelekhaya                      
  • Best Rap Album
Emtee                                          Avery          
  • Best Kwaito Album        (Brought to you by Ukhozi FM)
Big Nuz                                        For the Fans                        
  • Best Dance Album       
Black Coffee                              Pieces of Me                    
  • Best Traditional Faith Music Album  
TYGC Family                               The Journey Begins
  • Best Contemporary Faith Music Album      
Ntokozo Mbambo                     Spirit and Life                    
  • Best Maskandi Album (Brought to you by Ukhozi FM and KUMISA)
Imithente                                     Ichakijana              
  • Best Jazz Album          (Brought to you by Metro FM)
Marcus Wyatt & the ZAR          One Night in the Sun
Jazz Orchestra                                                            
  • Best Classical and/or Instrumental Album
Wouter Kellerman                     Love Language    
  • Best Live Audiovisual Recording
Jimmy Dludlu                              Live at Emperors Palace
  • Best Collaboration
Dbn Nyts ft. Zinhle Ngidi                       Shumaya
& Trademark                                                    
  • Best Music Video of the Year
Jack Parow & Freshly Ground Army of One                      
  • Best Produced Album of the Year
Zahara                                        Country Girl            
  • Best Engineered Album of the Year
Black Coffee                             Pieces of Me                                
  • Best Remix of the Year
DJ Sliqe                                        Do Like I Do Remix

International Achievement Award – Black Coffee
 Lifetime Achievement Awards (Brought to you by Telkom)– Nana Coyote (posthumous award), Bhekumuzi Luthuli (posthumous award), Roger Lucey

Best Selling Album – Nathi (Buyelekhaya)
Best Selling DVD – Joyous Celebration (Volume 19: Back to the Cross)
Best Selling Overall Music Download – Sfiso Ncwane (Bayede Baba)
Best Selling Music Download (Ring-back Tone) – Sfiso Ncwane (Bayede Baba)
Best Selling Full-track Music Download – Nathi (Nomvula)

Highest Radio Airplay of the Year – DBN Nyts (Shumaya)

Highest Radio Airplay Composers’ Award – Samkele Maphumulo, Kabelo Masekane, Cebo Ngcobo, Wanda Shabalala and Lwazi Yokwana for Shumaya by Dbn Nyts

Best Selling Digital Download Composers’ Award – Sfiso Ncwane (Bayede Baba)

Roll Up by Emtee
The results for the 22nd Annual South African Music Awards, organised by RiSA, were independently audited by SizweNtsalubaGobodo.

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.